2014 PEN/Faulkner Award Finalists


The Pen/Faulkner Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2014 awards. The award is “a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. Three writers are chosen annually by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation to serve as judges for the prize, and these judges are asked to select five books (from among the more than 350 works submitted each year) as finalists for the award, making this the largest peer-juried award in the country.”

This year’s judges are Madison Smartt Bell, Manuel Muñoz and Achy Obejas. Winners will be announced on April 2, and the award ceremony will take place May 10 at the Folger Shakespeare Library.

See the following for details on the finalists and their works.

Source, Source